Walking Tour of Oakland California 

I used to live in the Bay Area of Northern California including Oakland, San Francisco and Silicon Valley. I still have family members in Oakland and visit whenever I’m in the area. Up until last week, whenever I visit my routine is to get up in the morning and jog about 5 miles from my father’s house to Lake Merritt and back.

For whatever reason, my body didn’t want to cooperate last week (achy knee) and I walked a good part of the way so I decided to turn my morning jog into a walking photo tour. Turned out to be very interesting.

Here are some of the sights along my route:

The Oakland skyline is always changing but it is beautiful and has some great architecture. Here are a few sites that caught my attention.

View of Lake Merritt
One of my obsessions these days is finding ways to reduce homelessness. Oakland, like any other major city, has issues with homelessness. Part of my visit was to find out where homeless residents lived and the conditions they live in.


Still, even with it’s challenges, Oakland is one of the most interesting and diverse cities I know.

While I was there, I happened to run into the Oakland Black Cowboy Association Parade.

One of the things that struck me was how multicultural this event was.