Chatting with Friends – Odd Comments & Snappy Remarks

Mr.FireStation

holiday-123849_640
When I talk to friends, family and neighbors about my (mostly) secret plan to escape MegaCorp next April and live a life of early retirement, I’m starting to notice that the reactions people have result in one of about a dozen predictable comments.

Most people (90%) are nice and say “good for you, that’s amazing”.  But other times – a small percent of the time – the reaction is a bit odd. That is, a bit skeptical. A bit envious. A bit defeatist.  With these folks, I generally look to change the topic. I might have a snappy remark in my head, but most of the time I keep those to my “inside voice”. It’s better that way, because this is what I’m really thinking:

Screen Shot 2015-11-12 at 9.02.43 AM

For the most part, these aren’t people who have faced real hardship in their lives.  All seem to have had their opportunity to enjoy a…

View original post 186 more words