Simple Steps For Improving The American Education System

In my previous posts, I’ve talked about simple steps we can take in the short term to improve the American education, economic and public safety systems at the same time. To give my theories a little more credibility, I’ve included information from Fight Crime: Invest in Kids.   

It’s an anti-crime organization of over 5,000 police chiefs, sheriffs, prosecutors, and violence survivors that I’ve worked with over the years and they’ve taken a hard look at the research about what helps kids do better academically and prevents them from becoming criminals later in life.

They’ve come up with four simple steps that I totally agree with, particularly for low income or at-risk children, although I do have a few caveats that I will post soon.

1. Provide all families access to high-quality early care and education for kids from birth to age five.

2. Offer voluntary parent coaching to at-risk parents of young children through home visiting or other options proven to prevent child abuse and neglect.

3. Ensure all school-age children and youth have access to effective programs during school hours and after school to help keep them on track.

4. Identify troubled and delinquent kids and provide them and their parents effective interventions so the children will avoid a life of crime.

 

I’ve included a link to the whole document if you would like to see the reasoning behind this.